File not found

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Schedule start date opening ceremony host tv broadcasters tickets winner and more

The most awaited cricketing tournament – The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will be held in the United Kingdom. The host to this cricket extravaganza will be England and Wales for the year 2019.  The ICC Champions Trophy was also played here. The World Cup 2015 was won by Australia after defeating New Zealand in an exciting final but now it seems that the Australian cricket team has lost its ground over the past few months. The more powerful teams like South Africa, India, and New Zealand have taken over the game now. However, it would be interesting to see what Australia has in store for its fans.  

The first ever Cricket World Cup tournament was hosted by England. Back then it was the only nation that had the resources to host such a mega event. West Indies emerged as the winners in the first-ever World Cup played in 1975 and in 1979 again took the trophy back home.  Three times in a row England hosted the World Cup until 1983. This time the trophy was bagged by India after winning an exciting match against West Indies. India won under the Captaincy of Kapil Dev.

In 1987, the hosts were both India & Pakistan jointly and the tournament was won by Australia. In 1992, Australia and New Zealand was the combined host to the tournament and this time Pakistan won the cup. In 1996 Sri Lanka won while Australia became the world champions by winning the trophy for three consecutive years i.e. in 1999, 2003 and 20017.

In 2011, India hosted the world and this time it was a win for India against Sri Lanka under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. In 2015, Australia once again won by defeating New Zealand. 2019 will be the 11th Edition of this Cricket Tournament.

2019 ICC World Cup Start Date

The ICC cricket world cup 2019 will be commencing from May 30 up till July 14. It will be a 45-day long tournament. There will be more than 45 matches being played in the tournament. The opening match of the season will be between India and England.

The Logo for cricket world Cup 2019 has not yet been revealed.  Though there are some design seen floating on the internet but officially nothing has been declared.

Venues- The fixture list was released on 26 April, 2018. London Stadium can be the possible venue of the matches. England will be hosting a total of 48 matches in 12 stadiums. The stadiums are all ready.


ICC Cricket world cup 2019 official TV broadcasting rights have been reserved to Star Sports. So Star Sports Network is the official TV broadcaster for cricket world cup 2019. The live TV broadcast will be accessible on different channels across 150+ countries. People can watch the live action on local TV channels, online websites and get the radio coverage as well.


The 2019 cricket world cup will have 10 teams playing. The number of teams has decreased from 14 in the earlier world cups. England which is the host of World Cup 2019 automatically qualifies while the 7 teams with their rankings from 1 to 8 (as of 30th September 2017) also qualify for the tournament. Based on the ICC Cricket world cup 2018 qualifier that took place in Zimbabwe from March 4 to March 25   Afghanistan and West Indies made it into the tournament.

So the teams participating in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 are-

  • England
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Afghanistan
  • West Indies

All ten teams will play against each other in a single Group. Each team will be playing 9 matches in totality making it a total of, 45 matches overall. The top 4 teams will progress towards the knockout stage. This is the same format as was used in 1993 cricket World Cup.

  1. 30th May 2019- England vs South Africa - The Oval, London
  2. 31st May 2019- Pakistan vs West Indies- Trent Bridge, Nottingham
  3. 1 June 2019 – New Zealand vs Sri Lanka -Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
  4. 1 June 2019 - Australia vs Afghanistan-  County Ground, Bristol
  5. 2 June 2019 - Bangladesh vs South Africa - The Oval, London
  6. 3 June 2019 - England vs Pakistan - Trent Bridge, Nottingham
  7. 4 June 2019 - Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka -Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
  8. 5 June 2019 – India vs South Africa -Rose Bowl, Southampton
  9. 5 June 2019 – Bangladesh vs New Zealand -The Oval, London
  10. 6 June 2019 – Australia vs West Indies -Trent Bridge, Nottingham
  11. 7 June 2019 - Pakistan vs Sri Lanka -County Ground, Bristol
  12. 8 June 2019 - -England vs Bangladesh -Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
  13. 8 June 2019 - Afghanistan vs New Zealand -County Ground, Taunton
  14. 9 June 2019 – Australia vs India - The Oval, London
  15. 10 June 2019- South Africa vs West Indies - Rose Bowl, Southampton
  16. 11 June 2019 – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka- County Ground, Bristol
  17. 12 June 2019 – Australia vs Pakistan- County Ground, Taunton
  18. 13 June 2019 – India vs New Zealand- Trent Bridge, Nottingham
  19. 14 June 2019 – England vs West Indies- Rose Bowl, Southampton
  20. 15 June 2019 – Australia vs Sri Lanka- The Oval, London
  21. 15 June 2019 - Afghanistan vs South Africa-  Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
  22. 16 June 2019 - India vs Pakistan, Old Trafford-Manchester
  23. 17 June 2019 – Bangladesh vs West Indies- County Ground, Taunton
  24. 18 June 2019 – England vs Afghanistan- Old Trafford, Manchester
  25. 19 June 2019 – New Zealand vs South Africa- Edgbaston, Birmingham
  26. 20 June 2019- Australia vs Bangladesh- Trent Bridge, Nottingham
  27. 21 June 2019- England vs Sri Lanka- Headingley, Leeds
  28. 22 June 2019 – Afghanistan vs India- Rose Bowl, Southampton
  29. 22 June 2019 – New Zealand vs West Indies- Old Trafford, Manchester
  30. 23 June 2019- Pakistan vs South Africa -Lord's, London
  31. 24 June 2019 – Afghanistan vs Bangladesh -Rose Bowl, Southampton
  32. 25 June 2019 – England vs Australia- Lord's, London
  33. 26 June 2019- New Zealand vs Pakistan -Edgbaston, Birmingham
  34. 27 June 2019 – India vs West Indies -Old Trafford, Manchester
  35. 28 June 2019- South Africa vs Sri Lanka- Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street
  36. 29 June 2019 – Afghanistan vs Pakistan- Headingley, Leeds
  37. 29 June 2019 – Australia vs New Zealand-  Lord's, London
  38. 30 June 2019- England vs India- Edgbaston, Birmingham
  39. 1 July 2019 – Sri Lanka vs West Indies- Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street
  40. 2 July 2019- Bangladesh vs India- Edgbaston, Birmingham
  41. 3 July 2019 – England vs New Zealand- Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street
  42. 4 July 2019 – Afghanistan vs West indies- Headingley, Leeds
  43. 5 July 2019 – Bangladesh vs Pakistan-  Lord’s London
  44. 6 July 2019 – India vs Sri Lanka- Headingley, Leeds
  45. 6 July 2019- Australia vs South Africa-  Old Trafford, Manchester


  1. 9 July, 2019- Qualifier 1 vs Qualifier 4, Old Trafford, Manchester
  2. 11 July, 2019- Qualifier 2 vs Qualifier 3, Edgbaston, Birmingham


  1. 14 July, 2019- Winner Semi Final 1 vs Winner Semi Final 2, Lord’s London


If you wish to obtain ticket inclusive packages, you can book your tickets at ICC Travel and Tours Website. It provides you with hotels and official match tickets. You can book any match out of the 48 packages available.